Dear Visitor,

If you like colourful kilim rugs, our online boutique is for you.

You will discover a collection of over 200 kilim rugs, all unique. We have selected each rug with great skill and care to give you the rarest and most exquisite kilim rugs. To do this, we have traveled through many villages and knocked on many doors. Our effort and patience have been greatly rewarded and we are proud to present our results here. On this page you will find kilim rugs from all the regions of Moldova. Each region has its own specific patterns and colours.

All our rugs are vintage, weaved between the start of the 20th century and the ’80s. Many of these rugs have been used as tapestry and wall decorations. Some of these have never been used, carefully stored throughout the ages, they await their hour of glory and would serve as great interior decoration – why not try them in your home?

On Rugstory you will only find Moldavian kilim rugs. Our boutique is one of the few that specialise in this particular product. The distinct characteristic of Moldavian kilim rugs is the floral pattern set on a black background. All the rugs are hand crafted with great skill, starting with the spinning of the wool, dyeing and weaving. That’s why all our products are of best quality.

Here you will find kilim rugs which have past a thorough selection process. They are professionally cleaned and restored by artisans, with great passion for their work. Although decades old, all our rugs have been restored to a like-new condition. Rugstory works with Moldavian artisans and family shops, applying their great skill in restoring our rugs. By buying our rugs, you are contributing to the development of the local economy and the continuation of this centuries old tradition.

In our boutique you will find authentic, brightly coloured, Moldavian kilim rugs. Many of the dyes use come from tree barks and roots, often using methods long forgotten in today’s industrial manufacturing processes.

In our restoration process, we don’t use any coffee or tea baths which end up dulling the colours. Many of the Moldavina kilim rugs you’ll find for sale on the
internet have been subjected to a process intended to dull their colours and give them a more vintage look, even though these may be of a more recent provenance.

In our boutique you will find kilim rugs which won’t leave you indifferent. These are unique pieces that will leave an impression on any interior. Moldavian kilim rugs can have 15 or more colour arrangements. Each arrangement is original and unique. The choice of colours reflects the preference of the the weaver. Our collection offers a great variety of colours and patters you can choose from.

Many of the rugs have been woven by grandmothers for their grandchildren. Some have been passed one from one generation to another. Most have been made for personal use. None of the rugs in our collection involve any underpaid or child labour. By buying our rugs you are supporting jobs in the rural economy of Moldova.

All our kilim rugs are vintage. This choice is driven by our desire to give beautiful old things a new life and save them from deterioration.

Regrettably, industrial manufacturing means that the art of making Moldavina kilim rugs has been lost and they are no longer produced.

We hope you will enjoy browsing our boutique and we hope that you will find the kilim you are looking for.

The Rugstory Team.

Our recent posts

tapis moldave Moldavian kilim rug

Where to buy a Moldavian kilim rug ?

You have probably been wondering where to buy the Moldavian kilim rug also known as bessarabian kilim, because you want choice both in terms of models and prices.Moldavian kilim rugs are relatively new on the market and very few distributors offer them, when you want to buy them you have to navigate from site to site for lack of choice.  In the long run, it’s frustrating.   In order to

Lire plus »
50 nuances du tapis bohème kilim rugs

50 shades of bohemian kilim rugs

In this post I am not writing about whips and latex suits, but about decoration, which is also a form of pleasure. With this article, I would like to introduce you to bohemian kilim rugs made all over the world. When you think of a kilim rug, you visualise a hand-woven rug with exotic patterns and original colours, produced for personal use. These kilim rugs take you on a journey

Lire plus »
tapis moldave rugstory

Why so many flowers on a floral rug from Moldova?

Moldavian floral rugs are the masterpieces of Moldavian craftsmanship. They are distinguished from other traditional rugs by their floral patterns on a black background. The floral motifs on Moldavian kilim rugs follow the same pattern: one or more floral bouquets in the centre of the carpet framed by a floral frieze. The flowers represented on these floral rugs are all those that grow in Moldova: lilies of the valley, tulips,

Lire plus »
Close Menu
×
×

Cart

La passion du tapis kilim

Cher visiteur, Si tu aimes les kilims colorés ce site est pour toi.

Les critères de sélection de nos tapis kilim

 Tu trouveras chez nous une collection de plus de 200 kilims. Tous sont des modèles uniques. Nous avons constitué notre collection avec beaucoup de soin et nous avons sélectionné que les pièces rares. Pour cela, nous avons parcouru beaucoup de villages et frappé à des nombreuses portes. Nos efforts et notre patience ont payé, nous sommes fiers de te présenter les résultats sur la page  Toute la collection . Sur cette page, tu trouveras des kilims issus de toutes les régions de Moldavie. Chaque région possède ses motifs et couleurs spécifiques.

Tous nos tapis sont des modèles vintages. Ils ont été tissés entre le début du XXème siècle et les années ’80. Beaucoup de ces kilims ont été utilisés en tant que tapisserie. Certains kilims n’ont jamais été utilisés, ils attendent leur heure de gloire en tant que décoration d’intérieur, pourquoi pas chez toi ?

LPourquoi nous sommes différents des autres boutiques de tapis kilim

       Tu trouveras chez Rugstory que des tapis moldaves. Notre boutique est une des rares à être spécialisée sur ce produit. La particularité des kilims moldaves est leurs motifs floraux sur fond noir.  Tout le processus de fabrication de nos kilims est fait main, à commencer par le filage de la laine, la coloration de celle-ci et le tissage du tapis. Pour cette raison nos produits sont d’une grande qualité.

       Tu trouveras chez nous des kilims qui ont subi un contrôle qualité rigoureux. Ils ont été nettoyés par des professionnels, ils ont été remis en bon état par des artisans expérimentés et passionnés par leur travail. Tous nos tapis sont comme neufs alors que certains sont centenaires. Rugstory travaille avec des artisans moldaves qui sont tous des entreprises familiales ayant à cœur le travail bien fait. En achetant chez nous tu contribues au développement économique local.

Tu trouveras dans cette boutique en ligne des authentiques kilims moldaves avec des couleurs vives. Beaucoup de ces couleurs sont naturelles. Elles ont été obtenues à partir d’écorces et de racines en suivant des procédés aujourd’hui oubliés.

  Nos tapis n’ont subi aucun bain de café ou de thé destiné à estomper leurs couleurs. La plupart des tapis moldaves vendus sur le marché ont subi une altération des couleurs. L’objectif de ces pratiques est de les faire paraître plus anciens qu’ils ne le sont. Nous proposons des articles authentiques, tel qu’ils ont été conçus par les tisseuses d’antan.

          Tu trouveras chez nous des kilims qui ne laissent pas indifférent. Ce sont des pièces fortes qui apportent beaucoup de cachet à n’importe quel intérieur. Les tapis moldaves sont composés de plus de 15 couleurs. Chaque combinaison chromatique est originale et unique. Le choix des couleurs était motivé par les préférences des tisseuses. Notre collection est composée de tapis dans toutes les gammes de couleurs.

 Beaucoup de tapis ont été tissés par des grands-mères pour leur petits-enfants. Certains ont été transmis de génération en génération. La majorité a été tissée pour un usage personnel.  Aucun travail sous-payé ou travail d’enfant n’a été utilisé pour la fabrication de ces tapis. En achètent chez nous, tu es sûr de ne pas encourager le travail précaire.

Notre démarche durable

 Nous proposons que des articles vintages. Ce choix est motivé par la volonté de donner une seconde vie à des tapis d’antan. De cette manière nous sauvons des griffes du temps des pièces d’exception. Et nous nous inscrivons dans une démarche durable. Aujourd’hui ces beaux kilims ne sont plus produits. L’art du tissage a été perdu avec l’apparition des produits industriels. Nous espérons que tu apprécieras notre boutique. Nous espérons que tu trouveras chez nous ce que tu cherches. Toute l’équipe de Rugsory

Nos articles récents

tapis moldave paris kilim moldave

Tapis moldave Paris: où acheter un kilim moldave à Paris?

Le tapis traditionnel moldave n’est plus à présenter. Beaucoup connaissent ce tapis fait main à motifs colorés et fleuris. Le tapis moldave est reconnaissable parmi des milliers et s’intègre parfaitement dans tous les styles de décoration d’intérieur. Il apportera une touche de douceur dans une décoration industrielle grâce à ces motifs floraux abondants et à sa fabrication en laine naturelle. Dans une décoration monochrome et minimaliste, le tapis moldave apporte

Lire plus »
Tapis kilim moldave kilim rug

3 idées pour ajouter de la couleur avec un tapis kilim moldave

Vous vous êtes lassés de votre décoration ? Vous souhaitez de la couleur dans votre intérieur ? Dans cet article je vais vous expliquer comment apporter un changement dans votre pièce sans vous ruiner.  Pas besoin de changer des meubles, refaire la peinture ni faire appel à un architecte d’intérieur. Voici trois idées simples à mettre en œuvre pour apporter une touche de fraicheur dans son chez-soi. 1. Utilisez un (nouveau) tapis

Lire plus »
tapis bohème tapis kilim bohème

50 shades of bohemian rugs

In this post I am not writing about whips and latex suits, but about decoration, which is also a form of pleasure. With this article, I would like to introduce you to bohemian rugs made all over the world. When you think of a bohemian rug, you visualise a hand-woven rug with exotic patterns and original colours, produced for personal use. These bohemian rugs take you on a journey and

Lire plus »